FW and Wine
FW and Wine
Hi,
I have Linux Rosa on my laptop. I am trying to run FW application using Wine emulator. However, I get the message - "Error reading archive...". How can I solve this problem ?
I have Linux Rosa on my laptop. I am trying to run FW application using Wine emulator. However, I get the message - "Error reading archive...". How can I solve this problem ?
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
The "Error reading archive..." message when running an application via Wine on Linux Rosa suggests that Wine might be having trouble accessing or interpreting the application's files, possibly due to compatibility issues, missing dependencies, or a corrupted installer. Here’s a step-by-step approach to troubleshoot and potentially resolve this issue:
Check Wine Compatibility
Ensure that the application (FW, which I assume is a Windows-based program) is compatible with Wine. You can search the Wine Application Database (AppDB) online by typing the full name of the "FW application" (e.g., "FileWave" or whatever it stands for) to see if others have successfully run it and what Wine version they used. If you provide the exact name of the FW application, I can search for specifics if needed.
Update Wine
Make sure you’re using the latest version of Wine, as newer versions often fix bugs and improve compatibility. To check and update Wine on Linux Rosa (which is based on ROSA Linux, a Mandriva derivative), open a terminal and run:
sudo urpmi.update -a
sudo urpmi wine
This updates your package sources and installs/upgrades Wine. If you’re using a specific version (e.g., Wine Staging), specify it like sudo urpmi wine-staging.
Install Missing Dependencies
Wine sometimes needs additional libraries to handle Windows applications. Install the 32-bit compatibility libraries, as many Windows apps are 32-bit:
sudo urpmi libwine
Also, consider installing winetricks, a helper script for Wine:
sudo urpmi winetricks
Then run winetricks and install common dependencies like corefonts, dotnet, or vcrun (e.g., winetricks vcrun2019), depending on what the FW application might need. Check the app’s documentation or website for system requirements.
Verify the Installer/File Integrity
The error might indicate a corrupted executable or archive. If you downloaded the FW app installer, verify its integrity (e.g., using an MD5 or SHA checksum if provided by the source). Re-download it if necessary. If it’s an archive (e.g., .zip, .rar), extract it manually using a tool like unzip or unrar on Linux Rosa before running it with Wine:
unzip filename.zip
wine setup.exe
Run Wine with Debugging Output
To get more details about the error, run the application in Wine with verbose output:
WINEDEBUG=+err,+warn wine path/to/your/FWapp.exe
Look at the terminal output for clues—terms like “missing DLL” or “access denied” might point to specific fixes (e.g., installing a DLL via winetricks or adjusting permissions).
Check File Permissions
Ensure the application files have proper permissions. In the terminal, navigate to the folder containing the FW app and run:
chmod +x FWapp.exe
ls -l
If the file isn’t executable or readable, adjust it with chmod or chown as needed.
Use a Fresh Wine Prefix
Wine uses a “prefix” (like a virtual Windows environment). A corrupted prefix might cause issues. Create a new one:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new winecfg
Then run the app in this prefix:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new wine path/to/FWapp.exe
Alternative: Specify Full Path
If you’re running wine FWapp.exe from a directory Wine can’t access properly, use the full path instead:
wine /home/yourusername/path/to/FWapp.exe
If none of these work, could you clarify what "FW" stands for (e.g., FreeCAD, FileWave, or something else) and share the exact command you’re using? That’ll help me narrow it down further. Also, let me know if the error message has more details—I can refine the solution based on that!
Check Wine Compatibility
Ensure that the application (FW, which I assume is a Windows-based program) is compatible with Wine. You can search the Wine Application Database (AppDB) online by typing the full name of the "FW application" (e.g., "FileWave" or whatever it stands for) to see if others have successfully run it and what Wine version they used. If you provide the exact name of the FW application, I can search for specifics if needed.
Update Wine
Make sure you’re using the latest version of Wine, as newer versions often fix bugs and improve compatibility. To check and update Wine on Linux Rosa (which is based on ROSA Linux, a Mandriva derivative), open a terminal and run:
sudo urpmi.update -a
sudo urpmi wine
This updates your package sources and installs/upgrades Wine. If you’re using a specific version (e.g., Wine Staging), specify it like sudo urpmi wine-staging.
Install Missing Dependencies
Wine sometimes needs additional libraries to handle Windows applications. Install the 32-bit compatibility libraries, as many Windows apps are 32-bit:
sudo urpmi libwine
Also, consider installing winetricks, a helper script for Wine:
sudo urpmi winetricks
Then run winetricks and install common dependencies like corefonts, dotnet, or vcrun (e.g., winetricks vcrun2019), depending on what the FW application might need. Check the app’s documentation or website for system requirements.
Verify the Installer/File Integrity
The error might indicate a corrupted executable or archive. If you downloaded the FW app installer, verify its integrity (e.g., using an MD5 or SHA checksum if provided by the source). Re-download it if necessary. If it’s an archive (e.g., .zip, .rar), extract it manually using a tool like unzip or unrar on Linux Rosa before running it with Wine:
unzip filename.zip
wine setup.exe
Run Wine with Debugging Output
To get more details about the error, run the application in Wine with verbose output:
WINEDEBUG=+err,+warn wine path/to/your/FWapp.exe
Look at the terminal output for clues—terms like “missing DLL” or “access denied” might point to specific fixes (e.g., installing a DLL via winetricks or adjusting permissions).
Check File Permissions
Ensure the application files have proper permissions. In the terminal, navigate to the folder containing the FW app and run:
chmod +x FWapp.exe
ls -l
If the file isn’t executable or readable, adjust it with chmod or chown as needed.
Use a Fresh Wine Prefix
Wine uses a “prefix” (like a virtual Windows environment). A corrupted prefix might cause issues. Create a new one:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new winecfg
Then run the app in this prefix:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new wine path/to/FWapp.exe
Alternative: Specify Full Path
If you’re running wine FWapp.exe from a directory Wine can’t access properly, use the full path instead:
wine /home/yourusername/path/to/FWapp.exe
If none of these work, could you clarify what "FW" stands for (e.g., FreeCAD, FileWave, or something else) and share the exact command you’re using? That’ll help me narrow it down further. Also, let me know if the error message has more details—I can refine the solution based on that!
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
- karinha
- Posts: 8057
- Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
- Location: São Paulo - Brasil
- Been thanked: 10 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
Have you asked on the Linux forum?
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=238941
Gracias, tks.
Regards, saludos.
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=238941
Gracias, tks.
Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
Re: FW and Wine
The program for Wine(Port Proton) is working fine. I noticed this feature:
After selecting from the POPUP menu, all the buttons TBUTOON, BTNBMP, etc. cease to be clickable (however, they do not receive the disable status).
This can be solved by opening msg info(111). After clicking the mouse on the control, the clickability of all buttons will be restored.
What could be the reason for this behavior ?
After selecting from the POPUP menu, all the buttons TBUTOON, BTNBMP, etc. cease to be clickable (however, they do not receive the disable status).
This can be solved by opening msg info(111). After clicking the mouse on the control, the clickability of all buttons will be restored.
What could be the reason for this behavior ?
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
Something like that. I've tried different options. It works fine under Windows.
There is a panel (TPanel) on the shared window (wnd). There is a TGet on this panel with a button
Clicking on the button opens the menu.
The menu can no longer be called a second time - the "..." button it is not clickable. But if you write like this
That's all right
There is a panel (TPanel) on the shared window (wnd). There is a TGet on this panel with a button
Code: Select all | Expand
local oCl
private oWnd
oCl:=TGet():New(100, 100, " ", oWnd:aControls[1], 500, 20, replicate("X", 35),, ;
CLR_BLACK, RGB(245, 245, 245),,,, .T.,,,, .T.)
oBt:=TButton():New(0, oCl:nWidth-22,"...", oCl,, 20, oCl:nHeight-2,,,, .T.)
oBt:bAction:={||Mnu_Tls()}
Code: Select all | Expand
procedure Mnu_Tls
local st, dim:=getcursorpos(), mas:={"One","Two","Three"}
local oMen, oCl
MENU oMen POPUP 2007
for st=1 to len(mas)
if st>1
SEPARATOR
endif
MENUITEM oCl PROMPT mas[st]
oCl:bAction:=&('{||oWnd:aControls[1]:aControls[1]:cText(" '+ mas[st]+' '")}')
next
ENDMENU
ACTIVATE POPUP oMen OF oWnd AT dim[1], dim[2]
return
Code: Select all | Expand
oCl:bAction:=&('{||oWnd:aControls[1]:aControls[1]:cText(" '+ mas[st]+' '"), msginfo(123)}')
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
I determined that the POPUP menu was to blame for everything. If, after selecting from the menu, you do something like oWnd:Hide(), oWnd:Show() (:Refresh() does not help), then access to all elements of the window is restored. How do I intercept the menu closing event without selecting?
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
I'm sorry, Antonio! I didn't understand. This block of code is triggered when the cursor hovers over the menu, and I need to catch the moment when the menu closes. 

- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact:
Re: FW and Wine
That codeblock is evaluated when a popup menu closes.
Please use MsgBeep() from the codeblock to test when it is called.
Please use MsgBeep() from the codeblock to test when it is called.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42831
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 155 times
- Been thanked: 119 times
- Contact: