FW and Wine

Post Reply
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

Hi,

I have Linux Rosa on my laptop. I am trying to run FW application using Wine emulator. However, I get the message - "Error reading archive...". How can I solve this problem ?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

The "Error reading archive..." message when running an application via Wine on Linux Rosa suggests that Wine might be having trouble accessing or interpreting the application's files, possibly due to compatibility issues, missing dependencies, or a corrupted installer. Here’s a step-by-step approach to troubleshoot and potentially resolve this issue:
Check Wine Compatibility
Ensure that the application (FW, which I assume is a Windows-based program) is compatible with Wine. You can search the Wine Application Database (AppDB) online by typing the full name of the "FW application" (e.g., "FileWave" or whatever it stands for) to see if others have successfully run it and what Wine version they used. If you provide the exact name of the FW application, I can search for specifics if needed.
Update Wine
Make sure you’re using the latest version of Wine, as newer versions often fix bugs and improve compatibility. To check and update Wine on Linux Rosa (which is based on ROSA Linux, a Mandriva derivative), open a terminal and run:
sudo urpmi.update -a
sudo urpmi wine
This updates your package sources and installs/upgrades Wine. If you’re using a specific version (e.g., Wine Staging), specify it like sudo urpmi wine-staging.
Install Missing Dependencies
Wine sometimes needs additional libraries to handle Windows applications. Install the 32-bit compatibility libraries, as many Windows apps are 32-bit:
sudo urpmi libwine
Also, consider installing winetricks, a helper script for Wine:
sudo urpmi winetricks
Then run winetricks and install common dependencies like corefonts, dotnet, or vcrun (e.g., winetricks vcrun2019), depending on what the FW application might need. Check the app’s documentation or website for system requirements.
Verify the Installer/File Integrity
The error might indicate a corrupted executable or archive. If you downloaded the FW app installer, verify its integrity (e.g., using an MD5 or SHA checksum if provided by the source). Re-download it if necessary. If it’s an archive (e.g., .zip, .rar), extract it manually using a tool like unzip or unrar on Linux Rosa before running it with Wine:
unzip filename.zip
wine setup.exe
Run Wine with Debugging Output
To get more details about the error, run the application in Wine with verbose output:
WINEDEBUG=+err,+warn wine path/to/your/FWapp.exe
Look at the terminal output for clues—terms like “missing DLL” or “access denied” might point to specific fixes (e.g., installing a DLL via winetricks or adjusting permissions).
Check File Permissions
Ensure the application files have proper permissions. In the terminal, navigate to the folder containing the FW app and run:
chmod +x FWapp.exe
ls -l
If the file isn’t executable or readable, adjust it with chmod or chown as needed.
Use a Fresh Wine Prefix
Wine uses a “prefix” (like a virtual Windows environment). A corrupted prefix might cause issues. Create a new one:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new winecfg
Then run the app in this prefix:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_new wine path/to/FWapp.exe
Alternative: Specify Full Path
If you’re running wine FWapp.exe from a directory Wine can’t access properly, use the full path instead:
wine /home/yourusername/path/to/FWapp.exe
If none of these work, could you clarify what "FW" stands for (e.g., FreeCAD, FileWave, or something else) and share the exact command you’re using? That’ll help me narrow it down further. Also, let me know if the error message has more details—I can refine the solution based on that!
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

Thanks, Antonio !

Which Wine to install 32 or 64 ?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

The FWH app you are testing is 32 or 64 bits ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
karinha
Posts: 8057
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by karinha »

Have you asked on the Linux forum?

https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=238941

Gracias, tks.

Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

The program for Wine(Port Proton) is working fine. I noticed this feature:
After selecting from the POPUP menu, all the buttons TBUTOON, BTNBMP, etc. cease to be clickable (however, they do not receive the disable status).
This can be solved by opening msg info(111). After clicking the mouse on the control, the clickability of all buttons will be restored.
What could be the reason for this behavior ?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

What is the action fired from the POPUP menu ?

Could you provide a screenshot ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

Something like that. I've tried different options. It works fine under Windows.
There is a panel (TPanel) on the shared window (wnd). There is a TGet on this panel with a button

Code: Select all | Expand

 
  local oCl
  private oWnd           

  oCl:=TGet():New(100, 100, "  ", oWnd:aControls[1], 500, 20, replicate("X", 35),, ;
                                                  CLR_BLACK, RGB(245, 245, 245),,,, .T.,,,, .T.)

  oBt:=TButton():New(0, oCl:nWidth-22,"...", oCl,, 20, oCl:nHeight-2,,,, .T.)
          oBt:bAction:={||Mnu_Tls()}
Clicking on the button opens the menu.

Code: Select all | Expand

procedure Mnu_Tls
local st, dim:=getcursorpos(), mas:={"One","Two","Three"}
local oMen, oCl

    MENU oMen POPUP  2007 
        for st=1 to len(mas)
          if st>1
            SEPARATOR
          endif
          MENUITEM oCl PROMPT mas[st]
          oCl:bAction:=&('{||oWnd:aControls[1]:aControls[1]:cText(" '+ mas[st]+' '")}')
        next 
    ENDMENU

    ACTIVATE POPUP oMen OF oWnd  AT dim[1], dim[2]
  return
The menu can no longer be called a second time - the "..." button it is not clickable. But if you write like this

Code: Select all | Expand

 oCl:bAction:=&('{||oWnd:aControls[1]:aControls[1]:cText(" '+ mas[st]+' '"), msginfo(123)}')
That's all right
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

Try to replace msginfo(123) with SysWait( 3 )
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

I determined that the POPUP menu was to blame for everything. If, after selecting from the menu, you do something like oWnd:Hide(), oWnd:Show() (:Refresh() does not help), then access to all elements of the window is restored. How do I intercept the menu closing event without selecting?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

You may use oWnd:bMenuSelect = { | oMItemSelect, nFlags, nHMenu | ... }
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

I'm sorry, Antonio! I didn't understand. This block of code is triggered when the cursor hovers over the menu, and I need to catch the moment when the menu closes. :(
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

That codeblock is evaluated when a popup menu closes.

Please use MsgBeep() from the codeblock to test when it is called.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Natter
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Natter »

Is it possible to determine that the program was run on Linux under Wine ?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42831
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 119 times
Contact:

Re: FW and Wine

Post by Antonio Linares »

getenv( "WINEPREFIX" )
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Post Reply